Things My Dad Taught Me: Genesis


Photo Credit: Kamerado.nl
It was hard as hell to actually pick a song to post, so I went for a couple of the less obvious, but amazing. I am still blown away by the fact that a ten year old kid – me – and an even younger kid, my 6-year old brother were so consumed with Genesis. I know a few 10-year olds these days and sure we all like to laugh at the kid that knows funny rap lyrics or sings the Jonas Brothers. But think about it… Just 20 years ago, my brother and I were obsessed with a band led by a guy with a major receding hairline and lyrics that flew miles over our heads.

Back then, my whole family would legitimately bond over great music. I cannot stress the legitimately part enough. We would gather around the tv to watch the world premieres of music videos on MTV. It is one thing to think the Jonas Brothers have a catchy tune that you can tap your fingers on the steering wheel to. It is another when the music you truly find most relevant in your life is somehow the music your kids listen to as well. I am not sure if that will ever really happen again. Another casualty perhaps attributed to the crumbling music business, and a loss far more important that dollars. Families cannot afford to keep losing things to bond over.

And from the who-the-hell-does-he-think-he-is to give parenting advice category… I think most kids would rather listen to the music they see their parents enjoying. Kids don’t come out of the womb begging for Miley Cyrus do they? I don’t have any, so I don’t know. But I cannot imagine anything better than seeing Mom and Dad, being happy, being in love, or these days, just being together while they listen to music. It could be Death Cab, Kings of Leon, John Legend, Coldplay, or whoever. Miley Cyrus-numbed parents = Miley Cyrus-numbed kids. Kings of Leon-happy parents = Kings of Leon-happy kids.

If you are lucky, maybe someday your kid will grow up to blog about their childhood that they never want to forget.

-

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

