Skateboarding – Full Circle

I had a meeting last week with a large and very progressive property development company. They just started rolling out a super nice new development and doing so in a very fresh, modern way.  At one point during the meeting, the conversation turned to potential awareness-driving events that are relevant to both parents and children, yet are still cool enough to adhere to the overall aesthetic and personality of the property.

Someone in the room mentioned the idea of a skateboarding event.  Essentially an elaborate demo, to use more traditional skateboarding term.

I really enjoyed spending time these people, so I felt totally comfortable sharing the exact thought running through my mind.  It was this:

I spent the better part of my teen years as a skateboarder being run off of very similar properties.  Literally chased off by security guards and the occasional store manager.  So it felt like things were truly coming full circle (for me) when one those same properties was considering hiring skateboarders to lure people in.

One response

  1. This is super cool, Robby. Now that my son is 12, I see the look in people’s eyes when he & his friends roam the neighborhood. Yet, I’m sure before he knows it those same people will want to use him for some kind of marketing info.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

