Road Tested: Clae Russell

Sung Choi is my new hero. He somehow resurrected Clae and in the process hit me with one of the most pleasant surprises from a sneaker company in a long time. Perhaps I set my expectations too low? Actually, I did not have much in the way of expectations, but from the second I held these in my hands (at Vinnie’s Styles in Brooklyn) I knew that the quality was far beyond most of the hyped stuff out there these days.

I am by no means a sneaker collector. Hell no! I wear all of my stuff, and I wear it into the ground. That’s why with my ‘Road Tested‘ posts, I feature shoes that I have worn for a while now. I wear them on the streets of NYC, through nasty subway stations, and even during my business travels. I am all about aesthetics, but it is functionality and quality that will separate the one-hit hype wonders from those that are here to stay (assuming those in charge know how to operate a business 🙂 ).

Despite a few pain in the ass pitbull claw scrathes from my eager-to-go-for-a-walk dog, these look brand spanking new. I GoJo the shit out of the white sole every week or so, each time restoring the white completely. If I am meeting with a rather conservative client, the Russells are my go-to shoes. If I was one of those dudes that were sneakers with a suit, these would be the sneakers to wear.

My mom always told me “You can tell a lot about a person by their shoes. You can go cheap on clothes, but make sure you have nice shoes.” I will let Clae speak for me all day long.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Road Tested: Common Projects Chukka « ROBBY WELLS

  2. im Joe Scaccia when i was looking for shoe on Clae.com i over thought on the shoe because from the pictures on the internet, they look kind of bigger than the Air Jordan 1’s that i have so I instead bought the Clae Thompson and i have to say that they are very stylish and very great sneakers and i want to add to my collection. would u prefer the Russells to someone that wears skinny/ slim jeans or no and im not saying ball hugging skinny jeans

    • I have never really laced my Russell’s up officially. Have always opted to keep the loose for some reason. If your jeans were pretty slim, they definitely would not hang over the top of the shoe. The bottom of your jeans would rest inside the shoe. Hope that helps! I have had those Russells for over 2 years now and they are incredibly solid.

Leave a Reply

