Road Tested: Bapesta

Let me answer your first question. Yes, these are for sale. I will give them to you for half price – say $90, shipped 🙂 I have had tons of Bapes over the years, in many shapes, styles, colors, and – ahem – even sizes, since Pondon’s 10.5s are typically way cheaper than 11s. I ain’t to proud to squeeze my toes to save a few bucks. With all the colorways that I have had over the years, this pair was subjected to the most wear and tear. The colorway is subtle enough to sneak into conservative client meeting without setting off alarms, yet still get you the occasional streetwise complement. When I entered my dark phase, these kept getting play. The rest of my rainbow colored Bapes have done nothing but gather dust over the last year, or served as my rain shoes.

Couple of features worth noting… Despite the super ragged appearance, the toe did not start peeling back until I got these things thoroughly soaked in an NYC slushee storm. The inner heal is destroyed because I have yet to adopt the practice of lacing up my shoes tightly. When people aren’t hating on Bape, you may hear references to the company’s extreme attention to detail and quality. Although that is not as obvious in their shoes as with their apparel, I have to admit, these will hold us as good as any. The obvious test would be stack them up to some GR uptowns to see if they are really higher quality. Who knows… I took these to the moon and back and I will still break them out every now and then. Well worth the money.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

