My Classic Rock – I Am Getting Old!

I have officially become an old man. No doubt about it. In the last month, I have found myself saying things like “Shit, they just don’t make songs like this any more” no less than a dozen times. Ronda and I listen to the 80s music channel on Time Warner Cable probably more than actual tv shows. One striking reality – the shelf life of a pop star these days rivals a carton of milk. Back in the day, Phil Collins killed it as the lead singer/drummer of Genesis, long after male pattern baldness had taken over! Peter Gabriel, Bruce Hornsby, Christopher Cross, hell, even Bruce Springsteen looked more like school teachers than grammy-sweeping rockstars.

Of course, I still love new stuff, and believe that I always will (based on my upbringing), but just like classic rock has a special place in my dad’s generation’s heart, 80s shit, of just about any genre, is clearly turning out to be my ‘classic rock’. I have always loved songs from my childhood… but now it is reeeeeally inspiring fond memories of family road trips and hanging out around the house on Sunday with the breeze blowing in the open windows, drinking iced tea, rocking out… see what I mean!! Nostalgic! Here are a few songs that were regulars that my dad would play on Sundays and on road trips… And dad, if you are reading this… THANK YOU!

Expect more posts like this in the future.

Duran Duran – Save a Prayer

Mr. Mister – Broken Wings

Prince – Purple Rain

Genesis – Abacab

Neil Young – Heart of Gold (My Dad liked to throw in some of his old faves)

INXS – New Sensation (Michael Hutchence was THE rockstar of the 80s)

Certain music releases were literally ‘events’ in our household. The following videos actually made the family gather around the TV for their World Premieres.

Julian Lennon – Valotte

Tears for Fears – Sowing the Seeds of Love

Van Halen – Jump

Guns N Roses – November Rain

Leave a Reply

