138 Words on Idols

On the morning of my 35th birthday, I woke up and read a few pages of a biography.  As I read with admiration for the author, I found myself wondering… when will I stop idolizing – for a lack of a better word – others and start being my own person, or seek inspiration from somewhere else?  I am being naïve?  Do we forever follow? Did my Dad, at age 55, still idolize Jack Nicholson in his 70s?   Does someone massive like Bono still idolize someone like Lou Reed, or does that feeling or need go away at some point? When I was 10 years old, my walls were covered in posters of rock stars.  At 35, I read the books and blogs of the creative and successful people I look up to – the grown-up, modern day equivalent.   What’s next?

Leave a Reply

