The Perfect Break Up Song

A couple of Sundays ago, I was on my way to pick up a friend when a story on NPR caught my attention.  It was a piece about a girl trying to write the perfect break up song, after being dumped by the guy she loved so much.  Not able to find just the right song to make her own, she thought she would write one.  She’d never written a song before, so she needed some help.  Through some loose connections, she was able to enlist the help of one of the finest writers of not-cheesy love songs, Phil Collins.  Phil very openly shared his own story of love lost. Talk about a classy, classy guy to indulge this girl in such a pure, open-hearted way.

I ended up sitting in my car, in front of my friend’s place, listening to about 45 minutes of the show, nearly coming to tears a few times.  I know I can be an emotional black hole at times, but I still feel.

The entire segment is available to listen to here.

Leave a Reply

